Fooling myself

I am home, though this is not my home. The interior is still an open floor plan, but it it's flipped and the light is weak and coming in from the north.

The house has visitors, a handful of the neighborhood children scattered around the house, each are playing separately.

I am confused about why they are here and somewhat annoyed about this fact. None of them acknowledge my presence, though this is not unusual with children.

I walk across the space and into the master bedroom to find my child splayed across my bed, they are asleep.

I start shouting, wanting to know why they are at home after I had dropped them off at school.

They don't take the time to turn over and face me, but with eyes still closed, they let me know that they have been here all morning.

I argue this fact, though I get nowhere with my assertion and say out loud that I must be dreaming.

I try to test this theory by pressing my pointer finger into the palm of my left hand. There is resistance against the palm. This tells me that I am not dreaming and I am perplexed about what is going on.

~~~

When I wake, I am surprised that I used the technique while dreaming (this is the first time), but also disappointed that it didn't work.

Next

Stuff I do

"While you were sleeping your babies grew
the stars shined, the shadows moved
time flew and the phone rang.
There was a silence when the kitchen sang."

"While You Were Sleeping". Elvis Perkins

Next
Next